Tuesday, September 30, 2014 Saturday, September 27, 2014
Robbins is a perfect poet for right now: mean, shrewd, brusque and rude. Totally necessary. Emily Gould, Paper
Thursday, September 25, 2014 Friday, September 19, 2014 Wednesday, September 10, 2014

Nice review of The Second Sex in Booklist, not that you can read it online. In part:

Robbins’ first book of poems, Alien vs. Predator (2012), captured a large audience with its young, fresh voice rich in nuance, melancholy, and audacity. His second title possesses even more attitude, more self-deprecation, more wisdom. The book is rock ’n’ roll, political and not, timely, and lyrical. These 36 poems reveal Robbins’ critical eye as he takes in the peripheral and delivers tough revelations. “Sonnets to Edward Snowden,” which addresses the complex query “Who is the United States?”, is a standout.

Sunday, September 7, 2014 Thursday, August 28, 2014 Sunday, August 24, 2014
Wednesday, August 13, 2014 Thursday, August 7, 2014

Shannon McArdle, formerly of the Mendoza Line (one of my favorite bands), has made a song of my poem "Country Music," to be included on her forthcoming album, A Touch of Class. Proud to premiere it here.

"Country Music"

Engineered by Clint Newman. Masterfully performed by Clint Newman (guitar, drums, shaker) and Bob van Pelt (bass). Interpreted and performed by Shannon McArdle, Shandelion Music (BMI).

lyrics by Michael Robbins

(N.B. The poem, as it appears online at The New Yorker, is misprinted without stanza breaks. It should appear in quatrains.)

© Shannon McArdle & Shandelion Music
lyrics © Michael Robbins

Sunday, July 6, 2014
From behind the paywall, the little bark of my wit now lifts her sails

From behind the paywall, the little bark of my wit now lifts her sails

Friday, July 4, 2014 Monday, June 30, 2014 Thursday, May 1, 2014 Monday, April 28, 2014