Wednesday, August 13, 2014 Thursday, August 7, 2014

UPDATE UPDATE: Now it works again for some reason.

UPDATE: The song stopped working here for some reason, but it can be found on Shannon’s blog here.

Shannon McArdle, formerly of the Mendoza Line (one of my favorite bands), has made a song of my poem "Country Music," to be included on her forthcoming album, A Touch of Class. Proud to premiere it here.

"Country Music"

Engineered by Clint Newman. Masterfully performed by Clint Newman (guitar, drums, shaker) and Bob van Pelt (bass). Interpreted and performed by Shannon McArdle, Shandelion Music (BMI).

lyrics by Michael Robbins

(N.B. The poem, as it appears online at The New Yorker, is misprinted without stanza breaks. It should appear in quatrains.)

© Shannon McArdle & Shandelion Music
lyrics © Michael Robbins

Sunday, July 6, 2014
From behind the paywall, the little bark of my wit now lifts her sails

From behind the paywall, the little bark of my wit now lifts her sails

Friday, July 4, 2014 Monday, June 30, 2014 Thursday, May 1, 2014 Monday, April 28, 2014 Wednesday, April 16, 2014 Thursday, April 10, 2014 Wednesday, April 2, 2014 Thursday, March 20, 2014
my new poem (not available online) in the Winter 2014 issue of The Los Angeles Review of Books Quarterly Journal.

my new poem (not available online) in the Winter 2014 issue of The Los Angeles Review of Books Quarterly Journal.

Thursday, March 13, 2014
Wednesday, March 12, 2014

It appears Bill Knott has died, for real this time, the bastard. He gave me money once when I needed it. I didn’t ask him to, he just sent me money. He’d send me hand-painted books from time to time. If there’s some other crazy world where he is now, which he doubted, & I doubt, I hope he knows what a pain in the ass he was, & how much we loved him.

 … everywhere
they will be finishing the poems you broke away from.

Monday, March 3, 2014
The sky was on fire
When I walked to the mill
To take up the slack in the line
I thought of my friends
And the troubles they’ve had
To keep me from thinking of mine
Warren Zevon
Friday, February 21, 2014