Sunday, November 24, 2013
The promotional materials for award-winning sci-fi and mystery author Nicola Griffith’s new doorstop of historical fiction, ‘Hild,’ read in part: ‘As in Hilary Mantel’s “Wolf Hall” and Sigrid Undset’s “Kristin Lavransdatter,” Nicola Griffith’s luminous prose evokes the violence, subtlety, and mysticism of early medieval life.’ Leaving aside my suspicion that neither of those novels contains Griffith’s luminous prose, and the fact that neither is set in the early middle ages, I must note that ‘Hild’ has much less in common with Booker bait like ‘Wolf Hall’ than with T. H. White’s ‘The Once and Future King’ and George R. R. Martin’s ‘Game of Thrones.’ I reviewed Nicola Griffith’s new novel for the Chicago Tribune (Printers Row Journal).
Tuesday, October 22, 2013
I love Mastodon and Miley Cyrus; Prince and Parliament and Pretenders; Pig Destroyer and Pet Shop Boys; Van Morrison and Venomous Maximus; Grave Miasma and Gram Parsons; Taylor Swift and Twisted Sister (I loved the latter in fifth grade, anyway). I can’t stand the Doors, I like precisely two The Who songs, and the Arcade Fire’s music makes me want to throw up in the band members’ mouths. All Day Permanent Red: new column up at Noisey, Vice’s music site
Tuesday, September 24, 2013 Sunday, July 21, 2013 Wednesday, May 22, 2013 Sunday, May 12, 2013

Janet Malcolm can write. Yes she can. She wrote about some artists & stuff. I reviewed what she wrote here. I quoted my sister’s email without telling her. I like art. It’s so much like snow.

Saturday, April 6, 2013

I writ about language usage, its discontents, style manuals, & the fascist inside me here. Let us go then, you & I.

(Not paywalled. You just have to register. It’s free.)

Friday, March 15, 2013

Renata Adler! Speedboat! I review! Please subscribe to Printers Row so I can keep my job!

Friday, March 8, 2013

Reviewed Barthes’s Mythologies for the Chicago Tribune's Printers Row.

Monday, February 11, 2013

And then I wrote about religion for the Tribune, link here, xoxo:

https://twitter.com/alienvsrobbins/status/300001567510261760



Speaking of which, while everyone’s being so clever about Ratzinger, let’s not forget that, whatever else he may be, he’s a first-rate intellect. His Introduction to Christianity is well worth reading, no matter yr beliefs:

Faith is located in the act of conversion, in the turn of one’s being from worship of the visible and practicable to trust in the invisible. The phrase “I believe” could here be literally translated by “I hand myself over to”, “I assent to”. In the sense of the Creed, and by origin, faith is not a recitation of doctrines, an acceptance of theories about things of which in themselves one knows nothing and therefore asserts something all the  louder; it signifies an all-encompassing movement of human existence; to use Heidegger’s language, one could say that it signifies an “about-turn” by the whole person that from then on constantly structures one’s existence. In the procedure of the threefold renunciation and the threefold assent, linked as it is with the thrice-repeated symbolization of resurrection to new life, the true nature of faith or belief is clearly illustrated: it is a conversion, an about-turn, a shift of being.

Friday, January 25, 2013 Friday, January 11, 2013

Little Pogo Possum. I reviewed his antics for the Chicago Tribune.

image

Tuesday, December 18, 2012

Ups to Michael H. Miller for including my book on his year-end list at The New York Observer: "the most assured debut I’ve read in a long time."

I’ve updated my links over there to the left (to the left) to include a little section compiling all the year-end lists on which Alien vs. Predator appears. Like, in case you are as grateful & happy about such thing as I. Which is unlikely. Mew.

Monday, December 17, 2012 Saturday, December 15, 2012

wild fox spirits & iconoclast bodhisattvas

I wrote about my favorite small-press poetry titles of 2012 for the Chicago Tribune.

(I didn’t write the headline, which has rightly occasioned minor protests from a couple of the authors under review.)